Hotmail Sign In Page

Discussion in 'Hotmail' started by jhd28, Nov 25, 2008.

  1. jhd28

    jhd28 Valued Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have tried to get onto the sign in page and for some reason it won't appear. All I get is a blank page. Is something wrong with my computer or is hotmail down?

    Thanks for any input:)!!!
     
  2. BobSim

    BobSim New Email

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I also have the same identical problem. It is indeed strange that when I log into Hotmail from my work computer, it works. I use Comcast.net as my home provider. Is there a compatiblity issue with Comcast - this just occurred last evening.:(
     

  3. BobSim

    BobSim New Email

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Has Hotmail done an update that only makes the system compatible with IE7? I think I have IE6 at home.
     
  4. jhd28

    jhd28 Valued Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have Internet Explorer 7 so that's not it.
    Hmmmm - would it be possible for someone to email the hotmail people to ask what the problem is - as I can't get on at home and I don't have a work computer. :confused::)
     
  5. popowich

    popowich EQ Forum Admin Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Messages:
    7,907
    Likes Received:
    54
    Hello,

    A big welcome to E-Mail Questions for both of you. :D

    To fix the Hotmail login problem please try the steps in our guide:

    How to fix a Hotmail blank login page or login redirect problem

    Did any of the troubleshooting steps in this article help to fix your problems?

    If you need any additional assistance or more steps to try please let me know.

    Thank you,

    -Raymond
     
  6. jhd28

    jhd28 Valued Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok so far I have deleted cookies, deleted temp files, done a defrag, got the mozilla firefox, ran a virus scan, reset my security and privacy to defaults, and I already have internet explorer 7. The sign in page still hasn't come on.:(
     
  7. popowich

    popowich EQ Forum Admin Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Messages:
    7,907
    Likes Received:
    54
    Reinstalling Internet Explorer can help with some issues related to that web browser.

    Here is the link to download internet explorer 7.

    If you have a problem from both web browsers is it possible that spyware has changed your hosts file?

    The step about downloading and installing Spybot S&D or StopZilla can help fix the problem if that is the issue.

    -Raymond
     
  8. jhd28

    jhd28 Valued Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just re downloaded Internet Explorer 7 and I still can't get on the sign in page.
     
  9. popowich

    popowich EQ Forum Admin Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Messages:
    7,907
    Likes Received:
    54
    Is it possible for you to take a screen shot and post it?

    Do you see any error messages at the bottom of your web browser?

    -Raymond
     
  10. popowich

    popowich EQ Forum Admin Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Messages:
    7,907
    Likes Received:
    54
    Another member had a similar blank page / redirect problem and fixed it by reinstalling their BitDefender security software.

    Do you have a similar application installed that be be disabled for a few minutes or reinstalled?

    -Raymond
     
  11. popowich

    popowich EQ Forum Admin Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Messages:
    7,907
    Likes Received:
    54
    Do you have any entries in your hosts file besides localhost?

    If you see any entries for hotmail that may be a sign that some spyware has modified your computer.

    The hosts file is located in this folder: C:\WINDOWS\system32\drivers\etc.

    -Raymond
     
  12. popowich

    popowich EQ Forum Admin Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Messages:
    7,907
    Likes Received:
    54
    After logging into Hotmail and landing at the blank page, what happens if you force refresh the page?

    To force a refresh hold down the control key and while holding it down hit the F5 key.

    -Raymond
     
  13. jhd28

    jhd28 Valued Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    How do I take a screen shot?

    When I go to hotmail.com it's just blank - although at the lower left corner it says erronr on page and then it changes to done. I clicked on the error on page and then clicked on details Here is what it gave me:

    One page is:
    Line:3
    Char:3
    Error:'UIServerInfoComment' is undefined
    Code:0
    URL: http://login.live.com/login.srf?
    wa=wsignin1.0&rpsnv=10&ct=1227639060&rver=5.5.4177.0&wp=MBI&wreply=http:%
    2F%2mail.live.com%2Fdefault.aspx%3Fn%3D116864997&id=64855

    Then the next page is this:
    Line:7
    Char: 18445
    Error: 'g_oTemplate.ShowWLHeader'is null or not an object
    Code: 0
    URL: http://login.live.com/login.srf?
    wa=wsignin1.0&rpsnv=10&ct=1227639060&rver=5.5.4177.0&wp=MBI&wreply=http:%
    2F%2mail.live.com%2Fdefault.aspx%3Fn%3D116864997&id=64855
     
  14. jhd28

    jhd28 Valued Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok I did a force refrsh and nothing came on like before.

    Then I went to C:\WINDOWS\system32\drivers\etc

    and listed there is
    hosts
    hosts.msn
    lmhosts
    networks
    protocol
    services
     
  15. popowich

    popowich EQ Forum Admin Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Messages:
    7,907
    Likes Received:
    54
    Try going to https://login.live.com to login to Hotmail.

    If that does not work, try this (is it possible you just installed IE8 Beta?)

    [FONT=Verdana, Arial, Helvetica]Have you tried using LocalMachine_LockDown?
    [/FONT]
    • Open Internet Explorer
    • [FONT=Verdana, Arial, Helvetica]Go to the Tools menu and select Internet Options[/FONT]
    • [FONT=Verdana, Arial, Helvetica]Go to the Advanced tab[/FONT]
    • [FONT=Verdana, Arial, Helvetica]Scroll down to the Security section[/FONT]
    • [FONT=Verdana, Arial, Helvetica][/FONT]Uncheck Allow active content to run in files on My Computer
    • [FONT=Verdana, Arial, Helvetica]Close ALL internet explorer windows.[/FONT]
    • [FONT=Verdana, Arial, Helvetica]Restart Internet Explorer
      [/FONT]
    [FONT=Verdana, Arial, Helvetica] [/FONT]
     
  16. jhd28

    jhd28 Valued Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok I unchecked the Allow active content to run in files on My Computer

    closed all the windows then reopened a window and its still blank:(


     
  17. popowich

    popowich EQ Forum Admin Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Messages:
    7,907
    Likes Received:
    54
  18. jhd28

    jhd28 Valued Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    You are Awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    It worked!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Thank You so much!!!
    Heather:):D:)
     
  19. popowich

    popowich EQ Forum Admin Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Messages:
    7,907
    Likes Received:
    54
    Hi Heather,

    I'm glad we got it figured out!

    The https link is an easy step to try so I moved it up to #1 on the troubleshooting checklist!

    If it's not too much trouble please let your friends know about this site too. :D

    -Raymond
     
  20. jhd28

    jhd28 Valued Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    I definitely will let people know about this site!!!

    Heather:)
     

Want to reply or ask your own question?

It only takes a minute to sign up (and it's free!). Click the orange sign up button to choose a username and then you can ask your own questions on the forum.
Loading...

Share This Page