Is there anyway to copy Outlook Config Between computers?

Discussion in 'Microsoft Outlook' started by Big Dan, Apr 30, 2015.

  1. Big Dan

    Big Dan EQ Forum Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Messages:
    647
    Likes Received:
    16
    Hey Guys,

    I'm not sure if I've asked this before but I have an Office 365 subscription which includes Outlook. I'd like to set up all my accounts and signatures in Outlook on my desktop then just copy the config to my laptop so I don't have to re-enter everything.

    Is there an easy way to do this? Keep in mind they're all IMAP accounts so I don't care about copying the mail just the server settings and passwords.

    Thanks,
    Dan
     


  2. popowich

    popowich EQ Forum Admin Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Messages:
    9,001
    Likes Received:
    120
    It's easy to move your email by copying the PST file and attaching it to a new computer.

    That shouldn't be an issue since you're already using IMAP and can simply connect and resync from the new devices.

    Outlook 2013 File Menu.jpg Outlook 2013 Export Settings.jpg

    Untested: My Outlook 2013 file menu has the option to Export settings. Try copying those exported settings to a new computer and let's see if that helps to answer your question.
     

    Big Dan likes this.
  3. Big Dan

    Big Dan EQ Forum Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Messages:
    647
    Likes Received:
    16
    Thanks Ray. I've bookmarked this thread. I'll check this out over the weekend and report back.
     
  4. Big Dan

    Big Dan EQ Forum Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Messages:
    647
    Likes Received:
    16
    I wanted to update this because I never got a chance to try it. I decided to dump Outlook after it decided to balk at my perfectly valid SSL cert. on my mail server. Every time I'd start Outlook I'd have to approve the connection to the same mail server (different addresses) a few times. It was annoying to say the least. Shut up and check my mail! Sure I could have installed the certificate but it was really too much of a hassle for something that works without issue in Thunderbird.
     
  5. popowich

    popowich EQ Forum Admin Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Messages:
    9,001
    Likes Received:
    120
    Who was your mail provider? Are you running your own cPanel type of mail hosting?

    Microsoft Outlook - "Can not connect to server" after latest Windows update patches | Email Questions

    There was a recent update that requires some email service & control panel providers to regenerate their certificate keys because their were using a weak key length.

    Or was your problem that you created a self signed certificate and you were getting a warning about the certificate authority used to sign the certificate?
     
  6. Big Dan

    Big Dan EQ Forum Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Messages:
    647
    Likes Received:
    16
    It is a cPanel server but the cert isn't self signed. I specifically bought a cert. from Namecheap for my host name to so that clients wouldn't get a security warning when trying to access cPanel. It also runs my mail, FTP, etc. It's 2048 bits. If it's good enough for Chrome and Firefox it ought to be good enough for Outlook.

    Honestly, anytime I've used Outlook it's been a headache. I'd much rather use Thunderbird which syncs my contacts, calendar, and tasks list from Google with a couple of add-ons.
     

Want to reply or ask your own question?

It only takes a minute to sign up (and it's free!). Click the orange sign up button to choose a username and then you can ask your own questions on the forum.
Loading...