Does your ISP hijack DNS error pages?

EQ Admin

EQ Forum Admin
Staff member
Hello,

Does your ISP hijack DNS error pages? What ISP do you use?

By hijacking DNS error pages I am referring to redirecting users to a landing page full of advertisements when they make a mistake typing the name of a web site into their web browser.

As a DNS admin I'm curious to know how many other ISP's are doing this.

There was also a report earlier this year of one such service being compromised.

The vulnerability was a dream scenario for phishers and cyber attackers looking for convincing platforms to distribute fake websites or malicious code.

The hole was quickly and quietly patched Friday after IOActive security researcher Dan Kaminsky reported the issue to Earthlink and its technology partner, a British ad company called Barefruit. Earthlink users, and some Comcast subscribers, were at risk.
Please let us know if your ISP hijacks / redirects results when you type a name incorrectly.

Blake

Valued Member
I would never use your ISP's Dns servers. They are always slow and most times go down. I am a firm believer in Opendns. They have a custom error page when you go to a link that is not there, but they are always fast and highly improve your browsing experience. Though I have AT&T, and they have never had any dns pages.

EQ Admin

EQ Forum Admin
Staff member