Microsoft Outlook

Discussion in 'Microsoft Outlook' started by Raven, Aug 14, 2008.

  1. Raven

    Raven Valued Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    I use Microsoft Outlook for one of my email clients. I sometimes have problems sending outgoing emails because comcast does not like some of the configurations. I think Dan told me how to fix the problem and since then I haven't had issues.
     


  2. Big Dan

    Big Dan EQ Forum Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Messages:
    647
    Likes Received:
    16
    WooHoo I got a mention. :) I'm not a big fan of Outlook mainly because it's so expensive and not cross platform. Plus I don't need the scheduling features which makes half the proggy a waste for me. When I did have to use it in a corporate environment it was bloated and slow for me. Thunderbird is my client of choice.
     

  3. Raven

    Raven Valued Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    I use it because it came with MSOffice. Explain cross platform.

     
  4. popowich

    popowich EQ Forum Admin Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Messages:
    8,983
    Likes Received:
    120
    Comcast blocks outgoing port 25 on their residential service.

    If you are sending e-mail from your Comcast connection you will need to use the Comcast SMTP server in your settings (smtp.comcast.net), or use an alternate port on an SMTP server that you control or have access to outside of their network.

    -Raymond
     
  5. Big Dan

    Big Dan EQ Forum Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Messages:
    647
    Likes Received:
    16
    Cross platform means it works on more than one operating system. For instance Thunderbird works on Windows, Linux, and OS X. I believe Outlook does work on OS X (Macs) but nada for Linux. For most people this isn't an issue but for someone like me who cannot make up their mind it's important that I can just copy the data directory to a CD and copy it over to another OS then have everything in right in the same place on the new OS.
     
  6. Raven

    Raven Valued Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thats what I did. I had to switch it to port 587. I check my comcast email online but my KDT email via outlook.

     
  7. popowich

    popowich EQ Forum Admin Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Messages:
    8,983
    Likes Received:
    120
    Hello,

    Is your problem solved?

    -Raymond
     

Want to reply or ask your own question?

It only takes a minute to sign up (and it's free!). Click the orange sign up button to choose a username and then you can ask your own questions on the forum.
Loading...