How to get the tabs back in Yahoo Mail

Discussion in 'Yahoo Mail' started by popowich, Dec 9, 2013.

  1. popowich

    popowich EQ Forum Admin Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Messages:
    9,002
    Likes Received:
    120


  2. popowich

    popowich EQ Forum Admin Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Messages:
    9,002
    Likes Received:
    120

  3. popowich

    popowich EQ Forum Admin Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Messages:
    9,002
    Likes Received:
    120
    The mail.com service has an interface that members looking for the classic "tabs" might like.

    I caution against mail.com becuase of the lack of customer service, but if you really want the tab feature in your webmail it might be worth trying and migrating to mail.com.
     
  4. popowich

    popowich EQ Forum Admin Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Messages:
    9,002
    Likes Received:
    120
    OK, I think I have a way to get "tabs" back in Yahoo Mail.

    Login to Yahoo Mail with the Chrome web browser.

    Next, Login to Yahoo Mail and switch to Basic Yahoo Mail

    When using Google Chrome with Basic Yahoo Mail you can right click on an email and open it in a new tab:


    Yahoo open mail in new window.JPG


    The result is the ability to multitask between several emails using the Chrome tabs:


    Yahoo Tabs.JPG
     
  5. popowich

    popowich EQ Forum Admin Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Messages:
    9,002
    Likes Received:
    120
    The above solution does have a resource penalty, at least on my Windows XP.

    It's not as efficient with your computer memory when compared to a Yahoo webmail interface that natively supports tabs.

    Here is example resource usage:

    Chrome with a single tab open to Google

    Chome open to google no other tabs.JPG

    Chrome with a single tab open to mail.yahoo.com:

    Chome open to Yahoo single tab.JPG

    Chrome with many tabs open to Yahoo Mail due to opening many emails in separate tabs:

    Chome open to many Yahoo tabs.JPG

    My primary computer is older but I have the max 4GB memory installed. Windows XP is able to use around 3.2 of the 4GB memory.

    A computer with less memory could start to slow down if too many tabs are open in Chrome (or any other web browser)
     
  6. popowich

    popowich EQ Forum Admin Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Messages:
    9,002
    Likes Received:
    120
    If you add Yahoo.com to the Internet Explorer Compatibility View you'll be sent to the old version of Yahoo Mail.

    I am using Internet Explorer 8 in this example:

    Windows XP IE8.JPG

    Go to Page and select Compatibility View Settings:

    IE Page Compatibility View Settings.JPG

    Add Yahoo.com to your list of domains to run in compatibility mode:

    Compatibility Add Yahoo.JPG Compatibility Yahoo Save.JPG

    Then click the Close button and you'll be sent to the old Yahoo that supports tabs:

    Yahoo Mail Tabs.JPG
     
  7. popowich

    popowich EQ Forum Admin Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Messages:
    9,002
    Likes Received:
    120
    Tabs are coming back to the new Full Features Yahoo and should be available to all users within a few days!

    Yahoo Tabs.JPG

    Double click on an email to open it in a new tab.
     

Want to reply or ask your own question?

It only takes a minute to sign up (and it's free!). Click the orange sign up button to choose a username and then you can ask your own questions on the forum.
Loading...