How can I test backup mail service without taking down my clients server?

Discussion in 'Mail Server Support' started by scott, Jul 29, 2009.

  1. scott

    scott New Email

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    How can I test the backup mail service without taking down my clients server?

    They have the service but are not sure if it is working. :thanks:
     


  2. popowich

    popowich EQ Forum Admin Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Messages:
    8,986
    Likes Received:
    120
    Re: How can I test backup-mx service without taking down my clients server?

    Hi Scott,

    You can try doing a manual smtp conversation with telnet to see if their service works.

    Here is what to expect from a manual smtp conversation with telnet.

    Everything in quotes is what you should be typing into the telnet session.

    If you need their MX record you can use dig or nslookup to view their MX records.

    You will receive a 220 response along the way for every good part of the conversation that is not rejected
    You computer or domain name is better, but scott should be OK for most servers.

    The dot on a line by itself ends the message body.

    If all has gone well to this point you'll get a message returned such as :

    250 Ok: queued as ABC123

    If you have any additional questions please let us know.
     

    Last edited: May 22, 2015
  3. scott

    scott New Email

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I get a connection refused when I try to telnet to port 25
     
  4. popowich

    popowich EQ Forum Admin Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Messages:
    8,986
    Likes Received:
    120
    Hi Scott,

    Double check that you are typing the correct server name.

    Double check that you do not have an anti-virus program on your computer that is blocking outbound email connections.
     
    Last edited: May 22, 2015
  5. scott

    scott New Email

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    It works from my other computer just fine. POS software. :thanks:
     

Want to reply or ask your own question?

It only takes a minute to sign up (and it's free!). Click the orange sign up button to choose a username and then you can ask your own questions on the forum.
Loading...