Hotmail Rules

David Haley

New Email
Hello...noob here and I need some help! I use Hotmail online and have it linked to Outlook on my desktop. I've set up some rules to filter / delete email with certain words, domains, etc. to filter and delete spam. I set these rules up in Hotmail online or...the web version. For some reason...the filters are not automatically working. When I "run rules now" in Outlook on my desktop...they work and filter / delete spam just fine. So, my key words and domains are working but...not automatically. I set the filters up in the online version because I assumed email hit that account and then...the desktop version thinking...I could filter them prior to them ever hitting my Outlook program on my desktop. Anyway...does anyone know or have any ideas as to what I'm doing wrong?

Thanks in advance for your help!
Dave

EQ Admin

EQ Forum Admin
Staff member
Hi David,

The rules on this page seem to work for me as automatic processing - Outlook.com Options - Automatic Inbox Rules

I don't have any devices connected to my Outlook.com though. If that's where you are making the rules and it's not working, maybe it's because there isn't an "apply rules to the server" type of option that exists when hosted by a Microsoft exchange server environment.

David Haley

New Email