Can't open mail at India.com account

Discussion in 'Help Desk' started by curvefan, Feb 24, 2011.

  1. curvefan

    curvefan Valued Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey guys,

    I am having trouble opening messages at India.com.

    Double clicking any message does nothing. Email will not open.

    Looking at their feedback page, it appears other people have this problem as well. There really isn't much help provided at this feedback page though.

    I was just wondering if anyone on here that has an account at India.com is experiencing anything like me.

    I'm using Firefox 3.6.13 and have the no script extension disabled.

    Thanks.
     


  2. popowich

    popowich EQ Forum Admin Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Messages:
    8,983
    Likes Received:
    120
    My first thought is to try the things that are within your control :

    http://www.emailquestions.com/hotma...ms-including-blank-pages-login-redirects.html

    Obviously don't try to login to Hotmail, but steps like updating your adobe flash, clearing your cache, trying a different web browsers that you have no used at India.com etc might help.

    Please let us know if that helps and which step was the fix so others can benefit from the answer too.

    :thanks: -Ray
     

  3. curvefan

    curvefan Valued Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Ray,

    Thanks for all the suggestions.

    I tried most of them and still have had no luck opening messages at india.com.

    I tried three different browsers and disabled all security apps except for Avast anti virus.

    I tried emailing their support folks, but I couldn't find an enter button after finishing writing my message.

    I'll keep trying some other things and let you know if I ever figure out the problem.

    Thanks
     
  4. popowich

    popowich EQ Forum Admin Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Messages:
    8,983
    Likes Received:
    120
    What about browser plugins?

    I don't remember which thread it was but didn't disabling noscript or some other browser addons fix a different recent issue for you?

    I checked my india.com account and it seems OK.

    PM me your email address there and I'll submit a can not login ticket for you.

    I'm interested to see too if it's the account or something fixable on your computer.
     
  5. curvefan

    curvefan Valued Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks Ray,

    The issue where disabling the no script extension helped, was when I was trying to post on the board. Everything ran together until I allowed scripts to run. Then I could post without that problem.

    I will pm you my email address, but the issue wasn't that I couldn't log in, but that I couldn't read any messages in my inbox.

    I also could find no way to email support about this problem.

    If you're not having these issues then it probably is something related to my setup. It's a puzzler.

    Thanks again, and the pm is on its way.
     
  6. popowich

    popowich EQ Forum Admin Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Messages:
    8,983
    Likes Received:
    120
    Do you have an alternate computer that you can try and login from?
     
  7. curvefan

    curvefan Valued Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0

    Yes I do, that was my next step.

    I'll get back to you.

    Thanks
     
  8. popowich

    popowich EQ Forum Admin Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Messages:
    8,983
    Likes Received:
    120
    I submitted the support request.
     
  9. curvefan

    curvefan Valued Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks Ray,

    I just checked on another PC, and using IE8, the problem is still there.

    Both computers have Avast installed and Zone Alarm firewall but that's about the only similarities other than IE8.

    I really don't want to shut down Avast or ZA so I will wait and see if their support can help.

    Thanks
     
  10. popowich

    popowich EQ Forum Admin Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Messages:
    8,983
    Likes Received:
    120
    I have Avast too.

    Zone Alarm annoyed me with their frequent pop-ups so I switched back to Sygate Personal Firewall a couple months ago.
     
  11. curvefan

    curvefan Valued Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, I've been using Avast for years now. Love it.

    I can take or leave ZA but I had a chance to install ZA Pro for free so that is why I'm using it at the moment. I don't really get a lot of pop ups though.

    My favorite security app would be Sandboxie, but I don't want to get into a security app discussion, so I'll shut up.

    Thanks for all your help Ray.
     
  12. curvefan

    curvefan Valued Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    One last question, I promise.

    I just created another account at india.com and I can read the email messages just fine. So, I don't think it's the PC.

    Question: In "options", what is your time zone set to?

    In the account I just created the time zone is the very first one in the list. I think it's an African zone.

    In the account I am having trouble reading messages, the time zone is set at New York.

    Just wondering if that has any thing to do with my problem.

    Thanks
     
  13. popowich

    popowich EQ Forum Admin Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Messages:
    8,983
    Likes Received:
    120
    Mine was the default earlier and I changed it to New York earlier today when I was checking out the options.

    I did not have a problem with the time zone set to either setting.
     
  14. curvefan

    curvefan Valued Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0

    Thank you.
     
  15. curvefan

    curvefan Valued Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just wanted to update anyone looking in on this thread.

    I finally figured out why I couldn't open email messages, and it wasn't easy.

    Using Firefox and IE8, there was no way to make changes in the options screen as there was no "save" button. At least on my machines.

    I then went back into Chrome and I was able to see a "save" button in the "options" screen.

    Don't ask why, but I apparently had changed the "number of shown mails" from the default of 10 I believe, to 20.

    I changed this number back to 10 and I am now able to open emails in my inbox.

    I still can't figure out why I am not seeing this "save" button in Firefox and IE8, but that's another story.

    Just glad I figured this one out.

    Thanks again.
     

Want to reply or ask your own question?

It only takes a minute to sign up (and it's free!). Click the orange sign up button to choose a username and then you can ask your own questions on the forum.
Loading...