Avast conflict with Zone Alarm

Discussion in 'Yahoo Mail' started by popowich, Dec 8, 2008.

  1. popowich

    popowich EQ Forum Admin Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Messages:
    8,994
    Likes Received:
    120
    Hello,

    A conflict between Avast's webshield transparent web proxy and the Zone Alarm firewall has been discovered. If you have both applications installed on your computer Avast should automatically warn you about this issue. If not, and you are having a problem connecting to Yahoo mail, you may want to try disabling this feature in Avast and see if it corrects the problem.

    Avast conflict with Zone Alarm.JPG
     


  2. lindy09

    lindy09 New Email

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi:
    I just clicked yes to the above message and now cannot get my Yahoo mail thru Outlook Express.
    :(Prior to this, my Avast updates wouldn't come in; I thought because of an issue with zone alarm.
    Can anyone help me sort this out??
    Thanks!
     

  3. popowich

    popowich EQ Forum Admin Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Messages:
    8,994
    Likes Received:
    120
    Hello,

    If you double click open your Avast preferences, select web shield, click customize, and disable web scanning does that fix the problem for you? If not don't forget to re enable it. It looks like I've been protected from a couple of sites designed to get mistypes of google.com. I'd only disable the shield if it's absolutely required.

    -Raymond
     
  4. lindy09

    lindy09 New Email

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    The webshield is grayed out. There is a standard shield, a p2p shield, and a network shield???
     
  5. popowich

    popowich EQ Forum Admin Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Messages:
    8,994
    Likes Received:
    120
    There was a new version of zone alarm released between when this thread started and today.

    If you open up your zone alarm and click check for updates in the bottom left are you able to get an upgrade?

    My zone alarm version appears to be 8.0.065

    -Raymond
     

Want to reply or ask your own question?

It only takes a minute to sign up (and it's free!). Click the orange sign up button to choose a username and then you can ask your own questions on the forum.
Loading...