account stuck on my computer

I have 2 email addresses from my internet provider. The secondary one continues to work fine, but the primary one often will not give me my new emails. At first I would only be able to get them once a day, rather than any time I checked it. Lately it has gone as long as 2 weeks without having new emails come in for that account. However, I can get them on my I phone, or on the site for the provider. I have just spent a bunch of time trying to make sure that I am signed in okay to Windows Live mail, and that seems okay. When I asked one of the support staff for the provider that was all he could tell me to do. I get an error message saying that my POP3 server has not responded in 60 seconds. It will start to receive a list of messages but then I get a message that it is unable to send or receive messages from this account. A timeout occurred while communicating with the server. This is definitely not my area of expertise (I am a preschool teacher so I know about a different type of timeout!) so it is driving me a bit crazy! Any ideas?:confused:

EQ Admin

EQ Forum Admin
Staff member
Hello,

What service provides your email?

If you're not sure, what is the domain name (everything to the right of the @) in your email address?

Have you tried increasing your incoming pop3 mail server timeout setting from 1 to 5 minutes?

There are a variety of reasons why your mail connections could be timing out including anti-virus of other security software on your computer taking to long to scan your email when you mail program is trying to download your email.

It could also be a problem where their is a mail forward or message rule, either in your mail program or your email service providers servers, that is causing you to not get most of your incoming email.